‘They always know they’re loved’: musings on cyberloss, grief and love


I’m not sure whether I’m going mad, or just posting more often than I really should. Whilst responding by email to a comment which was left on my ‘new’ Welcome to Navigating Cyberloss page, this thought came to me: ‘They always know they are loved.’ I guess I need to listen to myself more sometimes. In truth, it’s something that’s been bugging me for the past five years, or thereabouts. There was one occasion where I told Chris I loved her, all the other times I could’ve done so, I left it, thought it was weird…wondered how she’d react. When I finally told her, her reaction didn’t belie much: ‘Yes, thanks, me too.’ But at least I’d let her know how I felt. Just over a week later, as we were bidding one another farewell for that evening, she said something that made me slightly emotional then, and makes me more so now: ‘Don’t forget, I love you so much.’ Remembering that is why I can bring myself to believe that when that moment came, she knew full well that I loved her, as well as all the other people in the world who loved her and were physically with her to show that love. Hugging a photograph isn’t the same, but I still do it.

How do you remember? Feel free to share in the comments. 

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, anticipation, Chris, coping-with-grief, cyberloss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ‘They always know they’re loved’: musings on cyberloss, grief and love

  1. Pingback: Cyberloss and privacy | Navigating Cyberloss: a place to share your grief

  2. Pingback: Cyberloss, grief, memories and choices | Navigating Cyberloss: a place to share your grief

  3. Pingback: Difficult decisions and cyberloss | Navigating Cyberloss: a place to share your grief

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

