Writing through grief as the anniversary approaches


Hi, friends.

I find it ever harder to believe that almost five years have passed since Chris made her transition. Sometimes it does feel like five years, more often it feels like some variation of five minutes ago and five months ago. It’s that weird time of year where I have to be very careful when I am thinking about things, otherwise I can end up staying in that kind of mood…and that’s just not worth it.

Strangely, Bruce Springsteen’s new album Wrecking Ball seems to fit my mood very well at the moment. Anything upbeat with a bit of  bite to it will do to get me out of this rut. I surround myself with that kind of music, and use it as a soundtrack to writing sessions for the article I am working on for The Grief Toolbox– check out Bruce’s ‘Easy Money‘.

I’m hoping to write in a few more locations in the run up to the anniversary, so I can do something with these feelings. Makes more sense to me than stewing in it. So, watch this space for a few more posts as it approaches. There will likely be several posts on the actual anniversary date, as I’m not sure everything I’d want to say would fit in one.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, Chris, coping strategies, cyberloss, Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

