Pre-anniversary grief


My brain’s a spectacular place to be at this time of year. It’s like I’m constantly bumping into somebody I don’t want to see. The problem with that is, it’s not a person. It’s the same feeling that usually attends me since Chris’ passing. I’m getting better at identifying it, but handling it is another matter. I guess it’s just a case of riding it out, and knowing that ‘this too will pass’. It has done for five years, ebbing and flowing, ebbing and flowing. The displays don’t faze me so much any more, more just a cursory glance and look away, I can handle that before the feeling starts. It’s when the feeling starts that there are problems. Takes a while to get through one of these funks. Hoping against hope to have the grace to deal with this.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, Chris, coping-with-grief, grief, memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pre-anniversary grief

  1. Are you going to a counselor?

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

