Testing my own mettle (Run up to Easter, part two)


Hello, friends.

The path to this Easter is interesting, as always. The cycle repeats itself, and I end up fighting myself. The displays pop up at the same time, but I notice them earlier. They emblazoned themselves on my consciousness as early as January this year. That’s new. I almost play a game now when I see one…I try to see how long I can spend looking at it before I have to tear my gaze away, either due to the feeling that rises in my chest or a simpler hatred of the reminder that Easter is around the corner. The rest of the world may need reminding, I already know. I will always already know. It’s probably something to do with the rigid association – I’ll never totally lose it, I guess. Maybe there’ll be less pain in future anniversaries…maybe one day all that I feel as pain now will be love. Maybe it is love, in another form? I don’t know.

Is there something that you have to avoid in the run up to an anniversary, or something that you do on an anniversary which makes the day easier to cope with? I’d love to read your suggestions and customs in the comments.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, anticipation, Chris, commemoration, triggers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Testing my own mettle (Run up to Easter, part two)

  1. I’ve found that counselling can literally change your life once you’ve had enough of emotional patterns…

  2. Thinking of you, Casey with love and prayer!

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

