One month ’til the anniversary (run up to Easter, part one)


Hi, friends.

In some ways, I find it  incredible to think that a month today will mark five years since Chris left this world. I’m not quite sure how I feel about it now, because I’m desperately trying to downplay it until it creeps up on me in a few weeks’ time. I’m hopeful that the details will fade, but the urge to sleep through that time of year remains strong in the light of the ‘milestone’ nature of this particular anniversary. They’re always difficult, and it’s not uncommon for me to end up thinking about it this far in advance. The fact that it was bothering me in January is new, but I guess that’s the milestone/millstone (whichever you prefer!) effect. I’m hopeful that this will be the last of the harrowing anniversaries, but I will wait and see what it brings. Still hard to believe how fast time seems to slip away. I’m lucky enough to have more than one photograph to look at, but this particular Ringo Starr song speaks to me at this time, and conveys a lot of the emotions involved in this for me.

Photograph‘ originally appeared on Ringo Starr’s 1973 album ‘Ringo’

(Harrison/Starr)

I’ll leave you with Ringo’s song.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

 

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, Chris, grief, online-loss, original-stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One month ’til the anniversary (run up to Easter, part one)

  1. connectingwithzoe says:

    Love that song Casey, made me melancholy.. Five years is a long time for dating, for a college course or travelling but for grief it’s a blink of an eye (though it feels like an eternity all at the same time too).. I wonder sometimes if we can expect it to just get worse, the years tick by distancing us from them then and us now forcing us to face a whole new frontier, trying to remember and keep everything about them fresh. We meander our way through, navigating the bends, ups and downs but its all uncharted and different for each of us, no right or wrong, just what is.
    I know that shadow well, the one that darkens each day just a little more until “that” day arrives, but hopefully, just as the dread has been worse for you this time around, the relief will be better too. I will be sparing a thought for you and Chris on Easter Sunday and saying prayers for you now 🙂

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

