I’m no Shakespeare, but…


Hi, folks.

I hope this post finds you all well. Poetry continues to be a good way of getting through this pre-anniversary feeling, or the absence of any logical feeling, just weird emotional numbness. I wouldn’t have thought about a sonnet if we hadn’t been challenged to write one at university. Chris remains my muse, as ever. Maybe one day I’ll write something which conveys what I want to say about her impact on my life. For now, this will do. More poetry to come, I think.

Your Sacrament

Time for solemn introspection ahead

Remember those lessons, a life well spent

Through long days of darkness your life had led

Though to you each breath was your sacrament

 You taught me so well, defeat I still spurn

The love that you gave, you never asked back

But you left me that day, much still to learn

Your love for your Lord a sacred contract

I love you still, ‘til the end of my days

The end of the tale a chance that we take

Now and forever in still deeper ways

Real love and true glory, life’s greatest stakes

The gifts that you left us daily go on

Your journey continues, beloved one.

Wishing you all strength and peace on your journeys,

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, Chris, commemoration, online-loss, original-stuff, poetry, tribute and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m no Shakespeare, but…

  1. Pingback: A geek with a hat » Science Wednesday: Towards a computational model of poetry generation

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

