Having a ‘moment’ in a garden centre- again.


Hello, friends.

I’m not one to rant on the over-commercialization of religious celebrations, but I object to shops  setting out Easter displays this far in advance. I know it’s all about their sales, and I wouldn’t mind, but obviously it’s not a great time of year from the standpoint of my journey alongside Chris. Too many memories, very few of them actually of the sort I’d like to keep.

Yesterday I had another moment much like the earlier experience after Kim’s passing. This time it wasn’t prompted by pet memorials  – just a display of Easter cards. I looked through them for a few minutes, picked a couple of packs up and put them back, before I had to turn and walk away. Rationally, I know I won’t be able to sleep through the upcoming event, but it seems impossible to avoid it entirely. Up until that point, Sunday had been a reasonably good day. I didn’t appreciate being asked when Easter was, but answered the question and permitted myself the sigh that accompanied the mention of that day.

I hold some hope that Easter will eventually lose the sting that it has at the moment, but I’m not sure whether that’s just wishful thinking.

Wishing you all peace and strength on your journeys,

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

