Do we know what we’ve got whilst we have it?


 

 

 

 

User created 11-2-2012

 

 

 

Hi, folks.

Just thought I’d throw this one out there, because I caught myself pondering this question a few minutes ago.

Everybody says ‘You don’t know what you’ve got ’til it’s gone.’ I’m wondering whether that is actually not true for those of us who’ve experienced this kind of relationship, and this kind of loss. Owing to the nature of our relationships with online friends, we may never have the chance to meet them. (Those of us who do are very lucky. I never had the pleasure of meeting Chris or Kim, but I met an online friend who lives in Germany last summer. Was pretty awesome.)

Does that mean that we recognise the importance of these relationships more, and that’s why we nurture them to the point that they become so significant for us? I’d be interested to read what you think on the matter. Are the relationships with those we don’t know in person somehow deeper for that? (I recognise that this probably should have been an earlier post, but the thought has just occurred to me.)

Please leave feedback and let me know what you think.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anorexia, blog community, Chris, coping-with-grief, Kim, original-stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do we know what we’ve got whilst we have it?

  1. Hmmm… I don’t know about that. An interesting thought, though. I find that the more people I lose in life (not that it’s happened that many times), the more I appreciate those I still have.

    • Casey B says:

      Thanks for taking the time to write. I’m slowly finding that to be the case as well. I meant no offence by claiming that those of us who have experienced online friendship and online loss recognise the significance of such relationships more. 🙂

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

