The blessing of those who listen


Hi, folks.

I hope this post finds you all well. I seem to be experiencing a period of emotional equilibrium, which I value in the pendulum of this experience of grief. I know that I am blessed in that I have a great number of friends and other close individuals, and not so close, but still considered friends, who will listen as I share the stories of my departed friends. It’s no longer Free Advice Day, but I guess this could be treated as an addition to that post. I urge you, if you are grieving the loss of someone you knew online, to find someone who will listen. Find someone who will respond kindly when you explain that you’re just feeling a bit low today, because of someone you lost. If they give you the opportunity to tell the story, take it. If not, make it.

You can’t guarantee how people will react when you start to share that story, but you may be pleasantly surprised. Many people find a kind of relief in sharing aspects of their story, and how they continue to be influenced by the person they lost. It’s not easy at first to recall the details, or to recount them. It’s important to do it, though…because that is one way in which those we have lost live on. We share our memories, and we have the emails and conversations that we had with the person who’s no longer physically here…the times when you find yourself smiling because of something they wrote to you or did for you – they’re right there.

Wishing you peace and strength,

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in commemoration, coping strategies, happenings, memories, recovery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The blessing of those who listen

  1. I love your writing style! (Great title, too, by the way!) I found your blog through seeing you comment on another blog and I’m glad I did!

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

