Cyberloss and Free Advice Day


I read about Free Advice Day over at Mel’s blog ‘Stirrup Queens’. I know it’s not something that regular readers would expect me to join in with, but I think it’s worth doing something for. The aim of it is to share the best piece of advice you know, about anything. So, being that this blog deals with the topic of cyberloss, I’m going to issue my best piece of advice on that. It goes for any type of grief experience, but is particularly pertinent for those of us who feel disenfranchised by our particular loss.

 

It is absolutely vital that you do not let another person tell you how to grieve. Whatever you choose to do whilst on your path through cyberloss is the right thing for you to do. As long as you’re not harming yourself or anybody else, then what you are doing to get through it will serve its purpose without having any wider repercussions.

Wishing you strength as ever,

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in cyberloss, emotion, support and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cyberloss and Free Advice Day

  1. April says:

    Excellent advice. Thank you.

  2. a says:

    This is the best advice anyone can get when they suffer a loss. My friend told me the same thing after my first miscarriage, and she told me that her uncle had told her the same thing after the loss of their baby.

  3. marwil says:

    Yeah, no one else can tell you what’s right or wrong or how long it should take to grieve a loss. Only you can heal in your own way, your own time. Even then, there will always be someone missing.

  4. kh99 says:

    Very true. It is so irritating and unhelpful when people try to tell you how to grieve.

    • Casey B says:

      Definitely! I’ve had so many experiences with unfeeling people trying to tell me that I should be able to cope with the ‘cyberlosses’ I have experienced by now…you just wish they’d step outside the box and try to understand, just for one moment!

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

