Poetry: Grief Burst


This just came to me, and I had to get it out. I’m not sure, but I think it’s a response to the inner voice that keeps telling me to get on with clearing out those emails. (I’m resisting it because I know it will be painful to go through them, but I don’t know how else I can do it.)

Grief Burst

I don’t want this pain.

I don’t want every choice to be a conscious rejection of the darkness.

I want to be able to breathe, think of her and not hate.

I want to recognise that there was no such thing as choice.

I’ve always said ‘The head knows, the heart feels’,

But I want to be able to believe the same for her.

I want to be able to forgive her,

But I don’t know where to start.

I’d just rather it wasn’t such a clear-cut thing;

Every thought searing pain, no blurred line between twinge and agony.

My heart knows she didn’t intend it to be like this.

My head still doesn’t believe her.


About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, anorexia, anticipation, coping strategies, Kim, poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poetry: Grief Burst

  1. Pingback: Grief | eitheory.com

  2. Pingback: Grief poetry | Navigating Cyberloss

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

