Including departed online friends in festive customs.


Hello all,

I hope you all had a bearable Christmas, as hard as it may have been knowing that you would have received an email or something from somebody you knew within the online community. (Trust me, I know…)

I hope you all had a good one and found some way to include those you miss from those communities in your festivities. Personally, I found some comfort in setting up a picture of Chris next to the George Harrison documentary book I was reading, so I didn’t feel like she was missing out at all. (Odd, I know, but made me feel better, and I think when we’re in a situation which is unorthodox as this, anything which alleviates the strangeness is advisable.)

I’m starting to feel like I’m approaching having made peace with Chris’ absence, and just maybe the fifth anniversary may not be the nightmare I was anticipating. (I still think there may be some trouble ahead, but it might not be that bad. I may have control over the ‘flashbacks’ now.)

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, anticipation, Chris, commemoration, festive season, grief and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Including departed online friends in festive customs.

  1. Good to read this and hear things have been at least doable…

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

