Ten years since we lost George Harrison


 

 

 

 

George Harrison, Shyamasundara Dasa and Mukund...

George and devotees in India, at Swami Bhaktivedanta's mahasamadhi. (image via Wikipedia)

 

 

 

I’m writing this on the eve of the tenth anniversary of George Harrison’s passing. George is an inspiration to me, in the way that he expressed himself through music and generally made the world a better place by being in it. Of course, he also inspired those close to me who are now on the other side with him.

 

I want to pay tribute to him on the tenth anniversary of his passing for a few reasons.

 

  1. He brought Chris and I together (well, we bonded over the music) and later he brought Kim and I together.
  2. He influenced my music and writing more than I can say- listening to his songs was the first time I realised that it’s perfectly OK to write what you feel. 
  3. However I feel about God and faith at the moment (and I don’t think it’s good) reading about him and his faith inspired me to a search first off, something which I later took more seriously thanks to knowing and loving Chris.

Last night I had the pleasure of listening to another edition of ‘The Beatles Anthologies’, the Mexican radio show where my ‘Wherever You Are (You’re Still an Angel)’ was broadcast for Chris. As I sat listening to Ringo Starr’s ‘Never Without You‘ I felt myself welling up – to quote him before he sang ‘Photograph’ at the Concert for George – ‘the meaning has changed now’. End of the first verse, I made a noise which wasn’t dissimilar to that which a cat makes before coughing up something unsavoury. Surprises me that it could happen still, nearly five years on. Guess that’s love, somehow…or maybe it’s grief. Who knows.

Anyway, God bless, George…wherever you happen to be. Long may you continue to light the celestial realm, and live in our memories.

Blessings to George and his family, and to each one of you who reads this,

 

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Chris, commemoration, Kim, Music, original-stuff, tribute and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

