Watching ‘George Harrison: Living In The Material World’


George Harrison in the Oval Office during the ...

Image via Wikipedia

In short, it was like a football match. (I’ve not lost it completely yet, just referring to how I felt last year watching the Argentina games in the World Cup.) Whilst watching the World Cup, I put a small framed picture of Chris on the fireplace, so that I could feel like she was there with me, in a way. (Although for what it actually did, I’m not sure how worth it it was.) The thing that was missing then was the same thing that I missed watching the documentary this week. No post-match banter, no conversation about whether ‘thanks to the Yogis of the Himalayas’ in the Brainwashed liner notes was a reference to George’s first LSD experience. There’s just one person I’d like to discuss that with, and she’s no longer here. It’s not fair that such wonderful things should happen when she’s no longer around to share in them… Mind you, I guess we all think that in one way or another. Same as the ‘one last conversation’ yearning. Even if we were to have one, we wouldn’t want it to be the last one, any more than we wanted the real last one to be so. Suppose that’s the mystery of being in these bodies, in this world which doesn’t seem to work the way we’d want it to.

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Chris, commemoration, grief on TV, Joy, Music, online loss issues and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

