Livestrong Day- October 2, 2011.


Hello, friends.

The Memorial Part 

I’m writing this to pay tribute to those I’ve known who have walked that grim road of cancer, either themselves or with loved ones, and to celebrate those I know who are either still fighting or have recovered.

First and foremost, I’d like to pay a loving tribute, as ever, to Chris Thomas – a dear friend who, without ever knowing it, changed my life for the better. Until she came into my life, I had no real live faith…sure, I had an inkling that there was some order to this world, some divine hand in it, but I wasn’t ready to make the leap and say ‘There’s God.’ I know, and strongly feel, that I  ‘saw’ God in her in many ways. Her attitude was an absolute inspiration.

Chris

Chris in her hometown, San Carlos de Bariloche.

(Chris Thomas, 10/7/1967-8/4/2007)

QEPD (RIP in Spanish.)

The Stay Strong Part 

Within this bit of the post, I wish to send good vibes to all those who have been touched by cancer and have showed, or are currently showing it who is boss.

  • Jan Marshall (showed it who’s boss on multiple occasions, presently doing the same.)
  • And another friend who’d probably prefer to remain anonymous, but is still showing it who’s boss. 🙂
In closing, I’d like to offer a reminder, in the form of one of my favourite poems, of ‘What Cancer Cannot Do’. 
This beautiful poem is by an unknown author.
What Cancer Cannot Do
Cancer is so limited…
It cannot cripple love.
It cannot shatter hope.
It cannot corrode faith.
It cannot eat away peace.
It cannot destroy confidence.
It cannot kill friendship.
It cannot shut out memories.
It cannot silence courage.
It cannot reduce eternal life.
It cannot quench the Spirit.
I offer love and prayers to all who are currently fighting, and join those who have shown it who’s boss in praying for their continued successful fight against it.
Blessings,



About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in charity, commemoration, coping strategies, coping-with-grief, grief, Livestrong and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

