Diplomacy in grief


I’m listening to Jackson Browne’s ‘Fountain of Sorrow’ as I write this, and thinking about exactly how diplomatic one should be whilst grieving. What I mean is I’m having difficulty with thoughts that Kim pretty much orchestrated her own downfall and exit…whichever way you slice it. I’ve looked skyward many a time and asked for the grace to accept the path she took…not sure how well I’m doing, to be honest. The crux of it is that I wasn’t ready…well, none of us were. I’d hazard a guess that we all expected it. (I know I did, every time I received one of ‘those’ emails and thought ‘Please God, no!’) Of course, later I started to wonder whether one of those times wouldn’t have been better, after all, there was a level on which it was expected.

So – does loving somebody mean by default that you accept their choices, or am I OK with my present attitude which accepts it, but still can’t understand how such a thing can happen?

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in coping-with-grief, grief, loss, online-loss. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Diplomacy in grief

  1. There is a lot that I’d like to say – questions asked over years, anger at a friend who also started on a path that led the last place I wanted them to go. I think we can love and still not quite understand. I think the fact that we love just makes us keep trying.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

