Offshoots from grief journalling.


I’m now involved in a songwriting challenge of sorts called 50/90 – the aim being 50 songs in 90 days, between the fourth of July and the first of October.  It’s the second time I’ve done it, and hopefully the first time where I won’t write fifty tributes. I know this is a grief blog, so I won’t be writing about it too much here, but I just wanted to share the song that demanded to be written last night during a session that I was having with my grief journal.

Side With Your Heart

© Casey B 19/7/2011

Chorus:  Gone’s only gone
When you look with your eyes
Look what happens
When you side with your heart

I’m there in every moment,
Every minute, every hour
And honey don’t you know
That’s just the start

Chorus

Every story, every moment
Every memory, every smile
Tell them still, and keep me close
We’ll be together for a while

Chorus

And if someone should ask you
To share me with them
Don’t think of me in sorrow
But remember way back when

‘Cause

Chorus x2

End

It will have music eventually, when I can bring myself to pull it together. I’ll share that here too, but like I said, that’s not the whole purpose of this blog. I’d rather it wasn’t derailed by other things. I can’t help but like it when these moments happen, though, because I hardly ever have to do anything to ‘write’ these songs.

All the best in all your journeys,

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Chris, coping strategies, coping-with-grief, cyberloss stories, Music, original-stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Offshoots from grief journalling.

  1. Kevin McGinley says:

    I don’t think you should be at all akward about putting things about your songs on here – music is such an important way of coping, and I think even your songs that aren’t specific tributes are stil part of grieving. I find your reactions to songs very similar to mine – there being specific songs and lines that just get you sometimes – I have Taken by Trees’ version of “Sweet Child o’ Mine’ and the Smiths’ “There is a Light that Never Goes Out” that hit me hard. Even songs I wouldn’t like normally – James Blunt’s ‘Goodbye my Lover’, for instance – can really hit me hard. One of the most striking things I’ve found about grieving is how so much stuff that seems cliched and sentimental just becomes true once you’ve felt the pain of loss. Another one that hit me was Eric Clapton’s ‘Tears in Heaven’. I’d tear up whenever I heard it, or my voice would break if I tried to sing it. Strangely, what made it more bearable was learning to play it properly on guitar. It’s still got emotional impact for me, but somehow learning it seemed to make me more at peace with the feeling, or maybe got me to accept the grief as part of me now. So I very much relate to seeing what you put into your music and songs, especially the ones you’re writing, and hope you share more.

  2. Jo says:

    These are beautiful, and very fitting, lyrics to share here. Thanks for giving us a glimpse of your private grief.

    Hugs,
    Jo

  3. JustHeather says:

    Thank you for sharing your song. The words are very nice. I especially like the chorus. Take care.
    (ICLW)

  4. I’m looking forward to your musical arrangement for this one. Hope to hear it soon! Thank you for sharing a part of your self.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

