Often on my mind, always in my heart…


I’m sitting here thinking of Chris, as is so often the case these days. The principal difference is that this is a real positive thinking. I cannot let myself spend so much time thinking about the way things ended, and whether they ended in the way that I would have wished them to for her…

A dear friend in body, or in spirit .

dear Chris...don't know when, but it's surely a beautiful picture.

I can’t help but wonder from time to time, but I have to stop myself, because it’s just not productive. Mind you, since when was love productive? Love just is, because it has to be. If we didn’t love people, we wouldn’t forge the friendships that we do and weave our own webs of connections which enrich us (and sometimes crucify us, admittedly)

What do you think about love? Is it necessary, or is it something that we could get on without? 

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Chris, coping strategies, coping-with-grief, cyberloss stories, grief, loss and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Often on my mind, always in my heart…

  1. Diana Doyle says:

    What a beautiful photo of Chris. Love is what makes things matter I think.

    Sending a hug to you Casey!
    love
    Diana x

  2. Heather says:

    Life is harder without love.

  3. Justine says:

    Love makes us human, I think … as does hope. Both things that can potentially destroy us emotionally … and yet, they are at our core.

    Thanks for visiting and happy ICLW … I’m another prompt-ly member! 🙂

  4. C says:

    She is beautiful. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  5. Miss Feisty says:

    Love is definitely necessary…everyone should experience it at least once.

    So sorry about your friend, she was beautiful. 😦

  6. Love is necessary, at least once you’ve experienced it. I’ve seen the surviving half of a long, happily married couple die shortly after the other one, for no reason other than a broken heart. ICLW #118

  7. melissa says:

    Love is something we breathe and so wonderfully interwoven to life… I cherish all the memories I had/have with my intimate friends. Some already went ahead of me…some have moved on with their lives in the different parts of the world… but in my heart, we will always be united.

    • Casey B says:

      Thanks for your comment, Melissa.

      That’s so true. Wherever they are, wherever we are, we’re always together, because of the love that we shared.

      Take care,

      Casey

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

