Drawing inspiration from the old (musical) well…


I’ve just recently hooked up with the blog writing circle Prompt-ly – so you’ll hopefully see a more varied regime of posting from me soon. This is a response to a discussion on whether music inspires us to write.

 

For me, I have to say that music certainly inspires me to write. I love listening to fingerstyle guitar pieces for that reason. When I’m not in the mood for fingerstyle guitar though, I’ll go back to The Beatles, or some Warren Zevon, whose album ‘The Wind’ is among the finest there have ever been in my opinion – what a wonderful response to adversity. The poor guy was told he had a short time left after being diagnosed with mesothelioma, and declined treatment in favour of going away and making one last album. The Wind is the result.  The album boasts one of the most stellar versions of Dylan’s ‘Knocking on Heaven’s Door’ that I’ve ever heard, and probably the only version I can listen to without wanting to break down and cry.

When I’m in the mood for some fingerstyle guitar, Don Ross’ arrangement of Berkley Springs is what I go for. There’s nothing so uplifting as the bridge, the yearning so perfectly expressed in the notes and chords. It’s a sublime piece.

Feel free to share your thoughts on the music which inspires you in the comments- or better yet, go on and write your own post. 

 

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in grief, Music, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Drawing inspiration from the old (musical) well…

  1. jjiraffe says:

    I’ve heard fantastic things about Zevon’s last album. I’ll have to check it out now…

  2. St. Elsewhere says:

    I hooked onto prompt-ly very recently. I too hope to get good topics from it.

    I do not listen to music when I am composing a post (mostly). Sometimes, I may have random tracks from Coldplay, U2, Annie Lennox or just about anybody on!

    iclw #36

  3. I don’t usually listen to music when I’m composing a blog post, but anything by Harry Connick Jr. always puts me in a good mood!

    ~Suzy
    {visiting from ICLW #53}

  4. My go to group is Guster. For some reason their words and intrumentals soothe my soul. I go through phases with listening to music. I get tired of listening to the same old, same old….so I tend to not listen as much.

    From ICLW #52

  5. Sarah says:

    I love music, but I actually have a hard time listening to it when I am writing. I get too distracted listening to it and can’t seem to keep a good pace of writing. Glad to hear you have some great stuff to listen to while you write!

    ICLW #7

    (and also a Prompt-ly member 🙂

  6. Lindsey says:

    Hello from ICLW! I love love love music. Most of the time I have something going in the background but sometimes, when I am writing or working on an in depth graphic design project, I always have to shut it off so I can focus better. I am also really excited that I saw the link for Prompt-ly because that is, I think, the kick in the butt I need to keep writing more often.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

