A golden opportunity to remember.


I’ve done a lot lately to attempt to forget about the grief experiences which have seemed to define me as a person in recent times. I continually hunt for ways to remember and commemorate Chris in particular, which is not to say that I do not eventually wish to do this with regard to Kim, but I must recognise that the feelings I feel towards her at the moment do not really lend themselves in any way to commemorating.

I had a brief chat with Francisco the other night, the man who was responsible for putting my song on Mexican radio earlier this year, which commemorated Chris and the 25th anniversary of the ‘Beatles Anthologies’ radio show.

Chris’ birthday is rapidly approaching, and you will know all about it, because I’ll surely post here on the day. Francisco reminded me that it’s also Ringo Starr’s birthday on the seventh of July, three days before Chris’. He then asked me whether I wanted to do something for the show – ‘anything from you is good, because it’s from the heart.’

I very nearly melted at that point, but managed to hold it together, thankfully. After pondering poetry, writing another song, or simply writing something to be read by him on air, I settled on performing a cover. Then came the difficult choice – which song. I have taken delight in recalling and sharing a story that Francisco told me of how he had had a difficult day at work one day, and spent the evening in Chris’ company, when she sat and played a half an hour concert for him – totally Beatles. The three songs were:

Michelle

 

All My Loving

 

and…my choice, something of a strange tribute, but loving nonetheless – ‘No Reply

 

Hope you enjoy the music- until next time…

What opportunities have you had, or created, to remember those you’ve lost? Please feel free to share in the comments. 

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in coping strategies, coping-with-grief, cyberloss stories, emotion, grief, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A golden opportunity to remember.

  1. marilyn says:

    I am glad that you have been enjoying Promptly..it is a plethora of creativity! Mel is awesome!! The fact that you chose Beatles songs is great..I have also had a hard time..letting go…I guess it is best to think of that friend with the good memories..but then..that means I have to let go..and that is so hard.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

