Can there be a heaven if there’s no God?


I’m doing that circle again, thinking about how there has to be a Heaven, because there has to be some place in which Chris and Kim are free of pain, but I can’t believe that there’s a God as well.

I’m reasonably certain there’s a pleasurable after life ‘place’ to which something of us (the soul?) goes when the physicality can no longer stand being here. (I’m not so sure there’s a Hell, because I think we end up creating that in word and deed whilst we’re here. Hell is our response to our surroundings.)

I’m not getting very far with the concept of the Pearly Gates without a gatekeeper. There has to be something, because this can’t be it, otherwise people would just suffer and die, without any real reward.

I suppose I badly want to believe that there’s a Heaven because of the ways in which both Kim and Chris died. If their deaths had been ‘normal’, for want of a better word…reasonable ages, just going because the body couldn’t take it any more, maybe I wouldn’t be so hung up on ‘there has to be a Heaven, but there may not be a God’. (The ‘there may not be a God’ bit is a development since Kim.)

Free will is a problem for me, because if there is a God, and we were given free will, then why did they not intervene to stop this mess from occurring.

Anyway, that’s another post entirely. Will end this one here, and pose the question in the title for a conversation in the comments:

Can there be a Heaven if there’s no God? 

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in grief, loss, online loss issues, online-loss, original-stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can there be a heaven if there’s no God?

  1. Sonja says:

    I never had pondered that before.
    Thinking of you. *hugs*

    Sonja
    ~ICLW

  2. Foxypopcorn says:

    Visiting you back from ICLW – Thanks for stopping by my space.

    If only there were easier answers to these questions. I was raised in the church, but never really felt comfortable with the ideology. When I was old enough to refuse to go, I quit going. Its not that I don’t believe… Its jut that I have a really hard time believing what was being taught. So I sit somewhere in the middle of wanting to believe, yet unable to reconcile so much of what I was taught with what I feel.

    What I do believe is that there is something, something larger than us as individuals. Maybe its an energy or a life force, a connectedness of sorts. There have been too many times in my life when I have felt this connection, to people both living and passed, and maybe even to those who have yet to arrive.

    I hope that you are able to find a place of peace as you navigate these big questions.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

