Trying to find the source of a St. Augustine quote


I may have posted about this before, but can’t really remember doing so. A while back, I was privileged to be sent a photograph of the Order of Service from my dear friend Chris’ memorial. On the back of the order of service, there was a Spanish text:

Yo muero, pero mi amor no muere, os amaré en el cielo como os amé en la tierra. Sed virtuosos, no lloréis ni os dejéis dominar por la tristeza, voy al cielo, donde os espero mediante la bondad de Dios.

Queda a los que lloren lo que hay de más hermoso, la esperanza de encontrarnos en el cielo y entretanto, sobre la tierra el recuerdo de sus consejos y el ejemplo de su vida.

which translates as:

I die but my love does not die. I will love you in heaven as I loved you on earth. Be virtuous, don’t cry, and don’t let yourselves be overcome by sadness. I am going to Heaven where I wait for you in the midst of the love of God. To those who cry, the most beautiful thing of all is left, the hope to meet in Heaven, and meanwhile, on the earth the memory of his advice and the example of his life. – St. Augustine.

I know who said it – well, I’m reasonably sure, but can’t find the source. So, I’m appealing to anybody who might stumble on this post and know anything about the source of this quote to please give me a hand. I’ve been searching for about a year now.

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in faith, grief, happenings, loss, religion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trying to find the source of a St. Augustine quote

  1. Pingback: So, that’s that. | Navigating Cyberloss

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

