Have I really done everything possible?


Doctor, my eyes have seen the years
And the slow parade of fears,
Without crying
Now I want to understand
I have done all that I could
To see the evil and the good without hiding
You must help me if you can

Jackson Browne– ‘Doctor My Eyes

Listening to the song, thinking about a few thousand things at once. I’ve been wondering lately whether loving somebody means that you love them enough to respect all their decisions, or whether you can respectfully disagree with some of them. I find myself hoping that the latter is the case, because I often end up doing that, at least within the confines of my own head. What about you? I think Jackson Browne said it best in another song. I know I’ve quoted from one of his at the top of this post, but please permit me to borrow a line or two from ‘For a Dancer’:

I don’t know what happens when people die
Can’t seem to grasp it, as hard as I try
It’s like a song I can hear, playing right in my ear
That I can’t sing
I can’t help listening

Jackson BrowneĀ –For a Dancer’Ā 

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Have I really done everything possible?

  1. jes g says:

    i think sometimes it is only possible to respectfully disagree…..
    at least thats how it works for me

    stopping by from iclw

  2. New Year Mum says:

    Such heartfelt lyrics… I certainly think that it’s possible to respectfully disagree with loved ones xoxo

  3. New Year Mum says:

    Hi… I’ve just awarded you a Versatile and/or Stylish Blogger Award šŸ™‚ Follow the link below and take your pick of which award you’d like and spread the love to other blogs you love šŸ™‚ It means so much to me to be sharing this roller-coaster ride of loss/TTC with you all. Love for ICLWeek :)) xoxo

    http://newyearmum.blogspot.com/2011/05/more-blog-awards-for-extra-happy-start.html

  4. Hilary says:

    I think that loving somebody means that you love them enough to respectfully disagree some of their decisions, as well as be able to tell that that you do…

  5. lil' dreamer says:

    Happy ICLW! Just finding your blog and enjoying all the great poems and lyrics you work in. Very moving! Thinking of you as you navigate your loss. And I absolutely respectfully disagree with love all the time. It is the only way to be true to yourself.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

