Step by small step


Jackson Browne 2008 (2)

Image via Wikipedia

For what it’s worth, I think I might be getting there. I’m still listening to ‘rowdy’ country – Tracy Byrd’s ‘Drinkin’ Bone‘ is blaring in the background as I write this. The heartbreaker country songs still get a fair playing too, as do those about lost friends – such as ‘Sissy’s Song‘ by Alan Jackson. My favourite song for dealing with this mess is still Jackson Browne‘s ‘For a Dancer’:


‘ I don’t know what happens when people die
Can’t seem to grasp it as hard as I try
It’s like a song I can hear playing right in my ear that I can’t sing
I can’t help listening

Browne’s ode to his friend who perished in a fire is a unique song – it seems to pack the pain and hope into the same three minutes, which is a miracle. So many of us wish we could honour those whom we have lost in this way. Feel free to have a chat in the comments – meanwhile, I’ll leave you with a thought from Robert Browning:

There is no truer truth obtainable
By Man than comes of music.
~Robert Browning

What have you done to honour those whom you’ve lost? What would you like to do? Please feel free to share pictures, links and stories in the comments. Let’s kick off a conversation. 

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in coping strategies, coping-with-grief, grief, happenings, loss, Music, online-loss, original-stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

