An Easter healing ritual


Stone skimming- the most cathartic thing in the world!

(Image taken from http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/01694/skim_1694576c.jpg)

I’ve always seen the value in skimming stones to release pent-up emotion. As long as you don’t cause yourself physical pain in the course of doing it, it’s a great way to get rid of anger in particular. I took myself to a local beach today, and armed with a charcoal pencil attacked a small pile of stones. On them I wrote words which described feelings and just skimmed them into the sea. Felt a major release, as though something had lifted. If I had one more stone to write on now, and keep, it would bear this word:

I am by no means suggesting that such rituals offer a ‘magic bullet’ to grief, but I’ve certainly found that they help me. Hoping that you will find something that helps you through the darkness.

Have you found your ritual which honours them and helps you? Let us know in the comments! 

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in coping strategies, coping-with-grief, cyberloss stories, grief, happenings, loss, online-loss, original-stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Easter healing ritual

  1. Pingback: Procrastination continues | Navigating Cyberloss

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

