Songs for the wounded soul: Emmylou Harris


I’ve written before of the impact of music on my grief journey, and even invited you to share those songs that have brought you comfort, or brought you to your knees during your grief journey. For me country music has been a mainstay. I choose not to drink, so I drown my sorrows in song. One of the many artists who have brought me comfort is Emmylou Harris, particularly a song of hers called ‘From Boulder to Birmingham’:

‘I don’t wanna hear a love song
I got on this airplane just to fly
And I know there’s life below me,
But all that you can show me is the prairie and the sky’

‘From Boulder to Birmingham’ – Emmylou Harris

(from the album ‘Pieces of the Sky‘ © 1975 & 2004 Warner Brothers Records Inc. Warner Music Group, a Time Warner company.)

Sorry about the copyright spiel. Back to the original point of the post. How many of us have thought about our loved ones in this way? I know I have, and still do. When I first heard this song, a lump formed in my throat that took half an hour to shift. Such an emotional moment – only topped by the first time I heard Don McLean’s ‘Vincent’. That song broke the barriers, and made me weep. There will be other posts in this series when I can think straight enough to write them. For now, I’ll leave you with Emmylou’s angelic tones.

Which songs do the same to you, remind you of where you’ve been on your grief journey? Are there songs which have brought you comfort? Let us know in the comments. 


About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in coping strategies, coping-with-grief, cyberloss stories, grief, happenings, loss, Music, others' work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Songs for the wounded soul: Emmylou Harris

  1. Judy says:

    After my husband died I joined AmeriCorps and headed to Texas to build houses for Habitat. The song that was popular at that time was this hit by a new group called Rascal Flats: I’m Moving On.

    • shadywilbury says:

      Thanks for the response, Judy. Funny you should mention Rascal Flatts. They were a favourite band of Kim’s, and have recently become favourites of mine- ‘My Wish’ in particular.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

