Then There’s a Stone- more poetry


This piece was written on the fourteenth of April, four days after receiving an email which contained something else I never wanted to read.
Then There’s a Stone

You told me of the future
All that you had planned
I now know what a fool I was
To think that you could stand

To make a life without him
To wander this world alone
I was sure that you couldn’t take it
The day you ‘two’ became one

Life holds some deep mysteries
Death’s are deeper still
I never could get why it took you
And don’t know that I ever will

I’m still working out what I’m left with
Some sorrow, anger and strife
In the scraps of what I knew
Something I once called life. 

I still can’t believe you’re not with me
Though something inside says you’ve gone
When I think of you in the future
All that I think of’s a stone. 
About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in coping strategies, cyberloss stories, grief, happenings, loss, poetry, triggers. Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

