Numbness, insomnia, three days to go…


This is an early post, I know. Truth is, I’ve been awake for the last couple of hours anyway. Something woke me at 4.50am, try as I might, couldn’t get back. Back when it was all going on, I would lie there and pray, pray her home, pray for the strength to cope with what would come to me. Now, prayer’s an entirely different issue. The one thing I can’t do, in fact. Today’s the day when I start thinking about ‘Stand By Me’- the song, not the film. I’ve not seen the film yet, suppose I ought to. I learned how to play the guitar part to the song the week before news broke about Chris’ impending passing, and the bass part the week that she went. When learning the guitar part, there was no hint that anything was really going to happen in that way, so the song remains a really powerful symbol of how quickly things can change for me. I include the only version I can actually listen to without a physical response in this post –  that of John Lennon. Somehow, it’s different to all the rest. More when I have something to write.

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, anticipation, coping strategies, flashbacks, grief, happenings, loss. Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

