Praying her home with a song- 4/4/07


Four years ago today, I took part in a vigil which has remained in my memory ever since. I wrote yesterday of how I found out about Chris’ impending passing four years ago, at 11.00pm, to strains of ‘Here Comes the Sun’…the only song I could think of at the time which would  make it a less hellish moment, in some way.

April 4, 2007 brought a post from a board member in Tennessee, ironically enough the (now late) fiancé of my friend who recently passed, inviting us ‘now the news has come in about dear Chris, please join me in playing ‘My Sweet Lord’ to send her on her way.’

So, we did. Many of us played it together, over the course of that day…I’d like to think there wasn’t a moment where it wasn’t playing somewhere in the world to honour her during the time of her leaving this world – but of course, that was still to come. I’ll write more of the ‘story’ tomorrow…but for now, I’ll leave you with the version of ‘My Sweet Lord’ to which I listened that day, which remains the only version I really enjoy. Billy Preston’s version is celebratory, whereas George’s is laced with meaning, and usually makes me cry. Until tomorrow, friends…

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, anticipation, coping strategies, flashbacks, grief, happenings, loss, Music, trigger dates, triggers. Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

