Void II


I spent yesterday sorting through comments left on MySpace over the course of three years. 92 comments, and probably half of them that contained some permutation of ‘I love you’. I find myself thinking of Warren Zevon’s ‘Keep Me In Your Heart For Awhile’

‘If I leave you, it doesn’t mean I love you any less’

Heck, the whole song is pertinent and powerful for those of us dealing with a loss.

Whilst looking through those comments, I couldn’t escape the feeling that I probably ought to deal with the emails soon, having done those. One hundred and eighty something remain for me to preserve for the times when I have a longing to read something from her. I’m wondering whether I also ought to preserve YouTube stuff, or whether that’s just obsessive. I suppose, in her absence, the things she sent take on more importance…although they are already important.

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in grief, happenings, loss, Music, online-loss, others' work, triggers. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Void II

  1. Zedek says:

    Casey, please send me your email and I will send you the chords to “I Went Looking for You.” Send to Glenn@zedek.us

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

