Strange and empty


Is this even logically possible? The other side of Christmas, and I’ve had a really good week…again ‘good’ here means I haven’t really thought about Chris at all in a positive, or negative way.

(Is that good? I never considered how one is supposed to define it in terms of thinking or not thinking about the person who has passed.) I always thought it was good if I was able to think about her for some stretch of time without chest pain. That seems to be the sign that I’ve over thought things. If I notice that I’m in pain, I immediately try to divert the thoughts. Don’t know that that’s the way to deal with it, but works for me. Three and a half years out, I don’t know exactly how things should work. Suggestions appreciated.

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in festive season, grief, loss. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Strange and empty

  1. spirit2go says:

    My congratulations on making it to the other side of Christmas….it will be 3 years out for me on January 25. True words: there is no right way and no wrong way – there’s the way that works for you. I recently read that when a painful remembrance or thought comes across your mind – you are supposed to replace it (or try to) with a positive one. Sounds like what you’re doing. And we go on……..

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

