Reminders in unexpected places


As people who have lost somebody we may have only known online, we often have to look for reminders of the person in odd places. Often in the case of online loss, there will be posts made by others which reference the person who has passed.

After a while, however, even this will dry up. I’m not saying that it should- in fact, I believe the exact opposite. I have stressed the importance before of staying in touch with members of the community of which the person was a part.

That can often be where the first reminders are found. In the case of a member of a community dedicated to something or someone (e.g. the George Harrison forum that Chris and I were members of.) there will likely be developments within that community, relating to the subject or the person to whom the community is dedicated. These can be double-edged swords at times for example:

the George forum community is very much looking forward to the release of the upcoming Martin Scorsese documentary. I, too, am looking forward to it, but it will be bitter-sweet. There will be at least one fan who won’t be around to see it.

My latest reminder of Chris, and perhaps a final gift, came as a result of continued contact with a member of the community who had also known her. In fact, he knew her long before I did. (I knew Chris for the final year of her battle, between 25/2/2006 and 8/4/2007.) He shared an article with me that was partially his, and partially Chris’ ideas woven into it. I relished the opportunity to translate from Spanish to English.

The final few lines made reference to George and heaven, and (what I believe to be) Chris’ hope that there were no representatives of Genesis Books, or record labels…and that ‘it didn’t occur to anybody to start a Beatles tribute band.’

One final laugh, for which I am so very grateful. Then there are the moments where I guffaw in public places because I’ve seen banoffee pie on a restaurant menu, or in a dessert cabinet. That calls to mind ‘Banana and toffee, I think’ –  my first five words to her.

Where do you find reminders of those you’ve lost in your daily life? Do you look, or do they sneak up on you?

 

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

