The Vacuum after an Online Loss


There’s something about the vacuum which seems to open after somebody close passes. Little things which were once barely blips on your radar can suddenly turn into huge things.

In my case, shortly after Chris died, and the announcement was made, some idiot (trying to be polite here, so I won’t use the word I might like to) posted some absolutely vulgar spam on the thread just under the post in which the announcement had been made.

Being the person I am, I now seek to almost defend the individual who made that posting, as they probably did not speak English, and would not necessarily have understood the announcement or the feelings that others had expressed. All the same, I was absolutely outraged by this. It was the first time I’d had anything to do with anger in an online context. So, I immediately reported it to the moderators, as it was the only thing I could do. Then I stepped back, but still seethed privately.

I know the Web is an open forum, to some extents a free for all, but in some cases there are lines of decency which should be drawn. This was one of those situations, and regrettably it has stayed with me as an example of just how odd the human race can be.

Was there anything that happened within your community after the loss that shook you? Feel free to comment, if you would like.

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in cyberloss stories, grief and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

