My cyberloss story


I will now relate the experience which prompted me to start this blog.

On 25th February, 2006, I came to know a woman in Argentina through the official George Harrison forum. Chris became as close as any friend to me, although we never physically met. Her being in Argentina, me being in the UK rendered it an impossibility.

However, throughout the year and two weeks I knew her, and some time before that, she battled breast cancer. After many ups and downs over the course of that year, she eventually passed away on April 8, 2007.  Since then, I have struggled to find my way through this mire of grief.

However, there is light at the end of the tunnel, and it is that light which has inspired me to create this blog. I dedicate this post to:

Chris Thomas

(10/7/1967-8/4/2007)

It is my hope that you will share stories, and gain strength and healing from being here.

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in cyberloss stories, grief and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My cyberloss story

  1. trauma2art says:

    I’m looking forward to reading more posts. If you’d like share your experience through grief and write about starting your blog, I’d love to publish it on Trauma to Art.

    Your cyberfriend, Lauren 🙂

    • shadywilbury says:

      That would be most appreciated. Until recently, I blogged about Chris and the loss of her on my personal blog ‘Writings of the Soul’, then I realised that it would be more beneficial to keep the two things separate. Plus, if I can help others through this unusual form of grief, that would be a bonus.

  2. Pingback: The importance of online remembrance. | Navigating Cyberloss

  3. Pingback: Words I found a long time ago… | Navigating Cyberloss

  4. Pingback: Easter- hope or just a pause? | Navigating Cyberloss

  5. Pingback: Car conversations | Navigating Cyberloss

  6. Pingback: March 2012 ICLW introduction. | Navigating Cyberloss: a place to share your grief

  7. Pingback: Participation in online communities after cyberloss | Navigating Cyberloss: a place to share your grief

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

