Still around…


Hi, friends.

Sorry I’ve been MIA lately, I’ve just been doing a lot of juggling with other things. It seemed as appropriate a time as any to return here today, though, as we pass another anniversary of George Harrison’s death or mahasamadhi. (I use that term because of what is clear here)

My fandom is as extensive as ever, but it has softened in recent years, as events such as the 29th of November are now tinged with another element of sadness, that Chris is no longer here to mark the occasion with us. However, I’ve noticed something today that shouldn’t surprise me, but still does.

Whilst watching various Harrison videos in honour of him, I couldn’t help but feel that I have company when I am watching them. It would be a nice thought…so that would mean that even though Chris is no longer in the body, nothing has really changed that much.

Also, I have prepared and submitted a piece to an Israeli journal which asked for pieces on the theme of Sacred Words. My understanding of this subject comes in no small part from Chris, so I had to contribute.

The piece I wrote and submitted deals with the spiritual dimension of our friendship, and the significance of her educating me in her Hindu path. After nearly seven years, it is still difficult to retrace the last week of her life, but I feel that I have captured it well in this piece.

I can only hope that my having written over 2000 words on the subject will not put the editors off, although they say that contributors are entitled to a maximum of 5000. I didn’t want to go that far, as I was worried that making the piece any longer would dilute the power that it seemingly already has.

I think the closing paragraph is perhaps my strongest ever statement of belief on the continuation of life and love after death, so I am very happy with the piece, regardless of whether the journal decide to publish it. If they do it will be wonderful, as it would likely be available around the Easter period. I am not anticipating a ‘difficult’ Easter this year, but we will see what happens.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

ncblogsig

 

This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Still around…

  1. Have missed you at Blogplicity, Casey, and just happened to catch you on Twitter. Hope to see more of you, my friend!

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

