A light goes out in the musical world


Dear friends,

I apologise for my silence this week – I have been attempting to come to terms with the loss of another friend. The beauty (and sometimes difficulty) of online friendships is the depth of the connection that can form. In this case, although I enjoyed RC’s (Randy Christopher’s) music for a long time, I only had a chance to work with him once.

I wrote a tribute to JJ Cale three months ago at the time of writing this (written on the 27th of July) and I knew it needed a ‘decent’ solo. I’m no lead guitarist, so I approached another member of the 50/90 community. He wasn’t able to do it, but suggested a couple of people, including somebody I’d worked with before on a song which is now entrenched in my live sets.

The other person he had suggested I hadn’t worked with before, although I admired his music. So, I decided to give it a go. I sent the track to Randy, knowing that he would deliver on the lead guitar front, but what I got was a real surprise, as you’ll hear below.

It is such a shame that we only worked together once. I was looking forward to another collaboration in February. Still, he very generously made pretty much everything he’d ever written available on Bandcamp, and I’m slowly downloading the lot.

I guess there’s not much more to say than ’til we meet again, but I couldn’t help posting after hearing this news, although it broke on Wednesday. Had to take a few days to compose myself.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

ncblogsig

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A light goes out in the musical world

  1. Paul (DD) says:

    It sounds odd, but I’m so glad I wasn’t able to work with you on this track, Casey. I simply wouldn’t have done it justice. You and RC nailed this one big time! He leaves a big hole behind him, both in the community and in many hearts. Thank you so much for posting this.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

