A journey towards re-discovering myself


Hello, friends.

I hope this post finds you well. It feels like a long time since I’ve posted, and it certainly is. From two posts a week, I now struggle to write one a month. I’d like to be able to write more often, but it’s hard to do so now that I am feeling far better than I was when I began this journey.

I’m not sure quite what’s going to happen from here, but I know that I will take a planned break for two months between January and March 2014. I need to take some time to think about what this place means to me now. I want it to continue to exist in some form, but whilst I’m doing other things, I can’t take the time to do that kind of soul-searching about what the new purpose is.

It is true, after all, that I have found a peace with everything that has happened. It has been a long time in coming, and I welcome it with open arms. The unfortunate thing is that I find myself unable to write here when things are going well. (Writing that reminds me of people like myself, who pray only when things aren’t going well. When everything’s good, we forget that prayer is an option even then.)

My peace does not mean that this place will cease to exist. I intend to take a break from blogging in January and February, but will be ‘around’ on Facebook, Twitter and email if anybody wants or needs to get in touch.

I believe it is no accident that this ‘crisis of wellness’ coincides with my final year at university. I have been too busy to post, but when I have wanted to, I haven’t been able to find anything to say. I could say the same things again, but I’ve already said them.

There are two things which will always be true. I will always miss Chris’ presence in my life, because of the presence she was. I will also always feel sorrow that Kim was taken, in my mind, far before her time. She didn’t live to see me climb out of the other end of the tunnel, when she lent her hand without judgement to get me there in the first place.

For that, at least, I am grateful. I hope to post again soon, when I have managed to verify the source of a couple of quotes from the conference. I would like to comment on some of the speakers’ presentations about photography, but there is one particular quote I would like to use, and cannot find a source. When I do, I will write that post. Until then, I may post or not.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

ncblogsig

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A journey towards re-discovering myself

  1. Ellen Ross says:

    I’m glad that the break is for such a good reason.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

