300th post and an announcement


Dear friends,

I hope this post finds you well. I recognise that I should perhaps leave my ‘bigger’ posts until the weekend, but this one can’t wait. Nor can I wait much longer to share it with you.

Next month, there will be a Navigating Cyberloss Facebook event in honour of all of our online friends who have passed on.

We will stand together and honour all of them, side by side. The event will take place on the 6th of April 2013. 

More will be forthcoming nearer the time, but for now, you are invited to join the event on Facebook. Click on the picture below to get to the page:

FBeventbanner

I am blessed to feel that Easter will perhaps be more manageable this year, because of this event. It is my joy to be able to share this event with you, and stand with you as we honour our online friends, and all of our experiences. Giving voice to them is vital in my view, because we can then understand where our feelings about our online friends come from.

I keep saying it, and I will say it again on the day, but our ‘online’ friendships are no less because they are online. The trust that we share with one another is quite unique, because we begin knowing nothing about our friends, and gradually invite them into our lives.

In turn, that can cause what we might consider an unusual level of grief if the unthinkable happens. Although I have difficulty believing this with regard to my experience, I would like to offer it to you. Grieving an online friend isn’t unreasonable, because they are friends just like any other friend. The only difference is that our paths didn’t cross physically. Still, we share much with them that we may not share with anybody else. That alone makes online friendship almost sacred in my view.

It will be a pleasure to stand with you to honour our online friends and pay tribute to our friendships. I hope you enjoy the event as much as I am enjoying planning it. Thank you all for deciding to share your stories.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

ncblogsig

 

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 300th post and an announcement

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

