Only Words


Hello, friends.

I hope this post finds you well. Today, I have turned to poetry to express my feelings about the absence of the Harrison forum, and why this has proved so challenging for me. Perhaps some of you might be able to relate to this poem, because words are so often all we have and all that remain of our friendships if an online friend passes.

                                          Only Words

You ask what’s more important:

our words or the memories?

There is no ‘more important’,

The words are how I remember.

Some things must come full circle

Others must surely end

But neither of these are testament

to unending love for a friend.

Yes, some things are forgotten

I cling to others still

I don’t intend to let them go

And perhaps I never will.

If I seem to grumble

I wish you could see

The reason why such simple things

Mean so much to me

Although to you they’re only words

Because I write, they’re gold

A reminder of the path she walked

And the mark she made on my soul.

 

It might seem like more of the same, but whatever I may claim, I write mostly so that I can keep Chris’ memory alive. She was such a champion of my creativity whilst she was physically present that it only seems right to continue writing about the feelings I have now she’s no longer here.

At the minute it feels like I’m chasing my tail, but I guess grief is like that sometimes. I hope to be able to continue to blog over the next couple of weeks, but I may take a break, depending on whether the inspiration is present or not. It is a gift to be able to share this journey with you as part of trying to improve the wider world’s understanding of the significance of online friends and online friendship.

If anybody out there reading wants to share something, please feel free to get in touch using the contact form. I will respond to all suggestions, and would welcome guest posts if anybody is interested in writing about their experience of online friendship or online loss.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

ncblogsig

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Only Words

  1. Christina says:

    Beautiful.

  2. t says:

    Golden. Both your words, and your break. Enjoy your rest, though I hope you don’t stay away too long =]

    • Casey B says:

      Thank you for your kind comment, T. I shan’t stay away if I can help it. 2012 ended with a curveball, and I may need to take some time to process that…or I may eventually deal with it by writing here.

      Take care,

      Casey

  3. jerly says:

    Grief is something we have to face as willingly as we face take the joys. Life just is such a mixed Bag. Wish u joys, and smiles through all there in the mixed bag

  4. Tara_Windwalker says:

    You were really connected to your inner most Self when you wrote this, that’s for sure.

    The last 2 lines really effected me because that is how I would like to be remembered, as well:
    “A reminder of the path she walked
    And the mark she made on my soul”.

    You wrote beautifully and I thank you for sharing.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

