A celebration: two years of Navigating Cyberloss


Hi, friends.

I hope this post finds you well. I apologise that it’s later in the week than usual, but it took some thinking about. Today (30th November 2012) marks the second anniversary of Navigating Cyberloss. I’d like to thank all of those who have read and commented, and those who have simply taken a look at what is happening here.

If people care enough to read this, then they will begin to understand that online friendship is no different to any other form of friendship. Just because it’s virtual, and we don’t have the opportunity to meet with the people we talk with online at a local coffee shop in person, it does not mean that the friendship is any less significant.

My hope remains that one day people will realise the importance of online friendship among all other forms of friendship, because it will become more prevalent as more people learn to use and embrace the social media technology that seems to pervade our society in many ways.

However, my main mission is not to promote an understanding of online friendship, although it’s a vital sideline, but to provide the support to others that I could not find in the days immediately following Chris’ passing. Yes, I was lucky in that people recognised the validity of our friendship, but it seemed very difficult for them to actually know how to reach out.

Of course, I cannot speak for anyone else, but all I wanted was for it to be recognised. I felt that my needs immediately following the loss were the same as anybody else’s following a close personal loss. Telling the story was then, and remains the most important element of dealing with the loss. Now, of course, I have come to a point at which Chris’ passing doesn’t bother me in the same way. I still miss her, but I have learned to recognise the ways in which her influence continues to be present in my life.

That is one of the blessings that comes with the passage of time after a loss. Hopefully, the immediate sorrow eases and we can come to see what we have been left with by those online friends who are no longer physically present.

Thank you again for your support. It’s always very much appreciated.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A celebration: two years of Navigating Cyberloss

  1. t says:

    One of my dearest friends is a woman I’ve never met. It’s odd at times to realize that while I’ve never even heard her voice, she is one of the people I lean on heavily for advise and support.

    • Casey B says:

      Thanks for sharing that, T. Perhaps I’m biased, but I feel much the same way about my online friends. Although I’ve not had the chance to hear them speak, they are as dear to me as those I see every day.

      Take care,

      Casey

      On Sat, Dec 1, 2012 at 2:59 AM, Navigating Cyberloss: a place to share your

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

