It’s always the little things


Hi, friends.

I hope this post finds you well. I’m not overly interested in technology as a rule, but I must admit that the news that Microsoft plans to retire MSN Messenger made me feel a little emotional, as though it was the end of an era.

In truth, I know that ‘era’ ended the day Chris left her body, but there are little things that remind me. There’ll be no outpouring of grief from the wider world at the demise of MSN Messenger, such is technology that most of us moved on ages ago. I did so grudgingly, only because I couldn’t bear to use a program that had become so associated with contact with Chris. Every single conversation we had, barring the last one, ended with this. (Imagine him waving…couldn’t quite sort that out)

Waving cat emoticon

Microsoft propose an alternative to MSN Messenger: use Skype instead. Most people could do that easily, but I can’t do so without a slight hint of sadness. When I upgraded my computer, I thought I’d saved everything. I went to have an MSN Messenger conversation with a friend, and use that particular emoticon. Cue a major panic when the word ‘puss’ didn’t change into the waving cat. So, I frantically Googled until I found it again. Having all these mementos doesn’t make me miss Chris any less, it’s just easier when some elements are preserved. I know it’s the march of progress, but I can’t help being a little annoyed. When I am forced to make the switch to Skype, I will lose that little waving cat, and be forcibly reminded that life goes on. I understand that, but it’s no less painful. I’ve already researched custom emoticons for Skype, and there’s no way around it. It’s not that important to anybody else, but it really matters to me. Just one more step to moving on, I suppose.

What gets to you about the march of progress after cyberloss? Please feel free to share in the comments. 

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature - 'Casey B'

This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s always the little things

  1. The fact that change is inevitable in all areas of life doesn’t make it any easier to deal with. ::hugs::

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

